Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine, Uruguay elected non-permanent members of un security council

Oct 23, 2015 Two African countries, Egypt and Senegal along with Japan, Ukraine and Uruguay were recently elected as non-permanent members of the UN Security Council.  The five countries won the required two-thirds of votes for the non-permanent seats in the first ballot.

The newly-elected members will replace Chad, Chile, Jordan, Lithuania and Nigeria on the UN Security council effective 1st January 2016.

According to the election rules, the Security Council’s non-permanent seats should consist of five African and Asian states, one Eastern European state, two Latin American states and two Western European state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *