Ethiopia takes almost all the medals in the just concluded 2nd Okpekpe 10 kilometre road race.

08 May 2014 In Sports news, the 2nd Okpekpe 10 kilometre road race has come to an end, with Ethiopa making an almost complete sweep of the medals table. ThisDay Live tells us that Teshome Asafan came first in the male race with the race’s first sub 29 minutes time of 28 minutes 36 seconds to clinch the $25,000 prize. Kenya’s Amos Mitel and Cornenius Kangogo came in at 28 minutes, 53 seconds and 29 minutes,01 second respectively to place 2nd and third.

Nigeria’s fastest man in the race was Ismael Yero who came in 10th at 31 minutes, 18 seconds.

In the women’s race, Ethiopa cleared all the top 3 medals with Wuday Ayalew running 32 minutes,41 seconds to clinch the $25,000 prize and Genet Yalew and Berhane Dibaba coming second and third respectively.

Deborah Pam was the fastest Nigerian woman at the race for the second year in a and placed 10 overall with a time of 38 minutes, 6 seconds.
There was also a VIP race that saw Edo state governor Adams Oshiomhole compete with other dignitaries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *