Nine new universities approved in Nigeria

10th March 2015 In Nigeria, nine private higher institutions of learning have been given the go ahead to operate and have been given licenses from the Nigerian Federal Government.

The universities received their licenses from the Minister of Education in Nigeria, Malam Ibrahim Shekarau. He warned them against wrongful activities, because any university that breaks the rules or is found wanting in any way will be would be sanctioned.

The minister added that, “While government appreciates the courage of the proprietors to partner with it on a project of this nature, which is not expected to be for profit, it will not tolerate any breach of the conditions of the approval. Any unwholesome practice or operation outside the provisions of National Universities Commissions, NUC guidelines are unacceptable and will attract appropriate sanctions.”

The new universities are Augustine University, Lagos; Chrisland University, Ogun State; Christopher University, Ogun State; Hallmark University, Ogun State; Kings University, Osun State; Micheal and Cecilia Ibru University, Delta State; Mountain Top Unversity, Ogun state; Ritman University,  Akwa- Ibom State and Summit University, Offa, Kwara State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *