Akin Bello, author of Egbon of Lagos Wins Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature 2014.

10th July 2014 Akin Bello, author of the play Egbon of Lagos, has been announced winner of the Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature.  The winning entry was selected from a shortlist of 3 finalists  at an event graced by some of the luminaries of the literary world.

The winner of the award Akin Bello is a celebrated author and former chairman of the Oyo State Branch of the Association of Nigerian Authors. He is currently an Executive Director of a Non-Governmental Organisation in Ibadan.

Mr Bello received his award from Professor Wole Soyinka, in the presence of representatives of the Lumina Foundation, distinguished guests, and sponsors – telecommunications giant Globacom Nigeria.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *